UPDATE! With the recent update in guidelines from the government, The City of Tempe has now required masks in public. Due to the change, we will now require students bring and wear a face mask while attending courses. Likewise, if you do not feel well, stay home! If you have signed up for a course, but will not attend due to illness, let us know, and we will issue a full refund.

16 Hour Armed Guard Card Course

16 Hour Armed Guard Card

The armed guard card class is a 16 hour course, over the span of 2, 8 hour days. All students must demonstrate a knowledge and proficiency of armed security guard issues by passing a written test with a minimum score of 70 percent at the conclusion of the class. Students will also be required to display shooting proficiency by firing a 50 round qualification and achieving a score of at least 70 percent. In total, a minimum of 50 rounds of ammunition will be used during this course.This class will also satisfy the requirements for a renewal license every 2 years as the new and renewal courses are the same. Students must have renewed their unarmed card prior to their armed! At the conclusion of the course, for those interested and qualified, we will assist students with their application for an Arizona Concealed Carry Permit (CCW).

Armed classes are held once a month on Saturdays & Sundays from 8am-4pm each day at our Tempe Location. Check our calendar for course dates. All paperwork, fingerprints and photographs are included in the cost of the course, but does not include the AZ DPS licensing fees.

hideWarning! No live firearms or ammunition allowed in class at any time! Keep firearms in your vehicle, do not bring into class.hide
hideNotice! This is a competency based course! You must pass range qualification & a written test! Mere attendance doesn't count towards completion.hide

Students will learn the basics of marksmanship principles, escalation and de-escalation of force issues as well as using deadly physical force as justified by law among other things.


Prints & Photos NOT Included

Due to the recent events effecting our community, AZSG will not be providing fingerprinting or photo services at the conclusion of the course. We will provide students with information on where to obtain these services.

hide

Course & License Fees

The cost of this course is $125 for new and renew. The course fee does not include any license fees paid to AZ DPS.The AZ CCW permit paperwork is offered free of charge to those who qualify, however, the permit fee of $60 is still required to be paid to AZ DPS. As of 2019, the cost of the unarmed guard license is $122. DPS can only accept the following forms of payment, made payable to the Arizona Department of Public Safety: cashier’s check, money order, check drawn on a business account or cash in the exact amount.