16 Hour Armed Guard Card Course

For New & 2 Year Renewal

Armed Security Guard Card
16 Hour Course

This course is for those who have already completed the unarmed training, and are looking to become armed guards in Arizona. This course works for new and renewing guards.
0
HOURS
0
$ NEW
0
$ RENEW

Course Information

The armed guard card class is a 16 hour course, over the span of 2 days (8 hours each day) and will allow students to obtain their Arizona Armed Guard Card. All students must demonstrate a knowledge and proficiency of armed security guard issues by passing a written test with a minimum score of 70 percent at the conclusion of the class. Students will also be required to display shooting proficiency by firing a 50 round qualification and achieving a score of at least 70 percent. In total, 50 rounds of ammunition will be used during this course.
At the conclusion of the course, students who have completed the course requirements are eligible for an Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit (CCW). AZSG will provide the paperwork and required documents at no charge upon request. The permit fee is currently $60.
Armed classes are held once a month on Saturdays & Sundays from 8am-4pm each day at our Tempe Location. Check our calendar for course dates. All paperwork, fingerprints and photographs are included in the cost of the course, but does not include the AZ DPS licensing fees.
Things To Note
This course is the same for new armed guards and 2 year renewal
You must have completed unarmed training prior to taking this course
This is a qualification only course, and is NOT designed to teach students how to shoot
There will be no warm-up or practice shots prior to qualification. Students should train and practice prior to the class
If you fail to qualify, you may be given a code to re-register for the next class at a reduced rate at the instructor's discretion. If you fail to qualify a second time, you must re-register again at full cost

Things To Note

  • This course is the same for new armed guards and 2 year renewal
  • You must have completed unarmed training prior to taking this course
  • This is a qualification only course, and is NOT designed to teach students how to shoot
  • There will be no warm-up or practice shots prior to qualification. Students should train and practice prior to the class
  • If you fail to qualify, you may be given a code to re-register for the next class at a reduced rate at the instructor's discretion. If you fail to qualify a second time, you must re-register again at full cost
The course is 16 hours total, broken down into two 8 hour blocks.
Students will learn the basics of marksmanship principles, escalation and de-escalation of force issues as well as using deadly physical force as justified by law among other things. This is a qualification course, it only reviews the basics and does not provide the required instruction on how to shoot for beginners.
DAY 1 CLASS
Basic Marksmanship
Weapons Care & Maintenance
Mental Conditioning & Tactics
Use of Force
Arizona Revised Statutes
DAY 2 RANGE
Range Qualification
Review of Course Material
Written Test
Paperwork & Prints
AZ CCW Paperwork

DAY 1: CLASSROOM

  • Basic Marksmanship
  • Weapons Care & Maintenance
  • Use of Force
  • Arizona Revised Statutes

DAY 2: RANGE & TEST

  • Range Qualification
  • Review of Course Material
  • Written Test
  • Paperwork & Prints
  • AZ CCW Paperwork

What to Bring

Students will need to have the following items for class. Please keep in mind, firearms, ammunition and duty gear is not required until the second day. Do not bring weapons into the classroom on either day!
Students will be required to adhere to all range rules and requirements. Failure to do so will result in disqualification from the course and removal from the class.

Students that do not have a duty weapon to qualify with may rent one from the range. AZSG does not provide weapons, magazines or ammunition. Please contact the range to inquire about rental fees:
If you will be renting a firearm from the range, or purchasing ammunition from them, you will need to bring a government issued photo I.D. with you. The law requires it for weapons rental and ammunition sales.

Students are encouraged to bring snacks and bevrages for the classroom. No food or drink is allowed on the range.
WHAT TO BRING TO CLASS
Note taking materials (pen, paper, tablet, etc.)
WHAT TO BRING TO THE RANGE
Duty Weapon and 3 Magazines
50 Rounds of Ammunition
Duty Gear (Holster at the least, vest if you want, not required)
Eye and Ear Protection
Appropriate Range Clothing (Close Toed Shoes, Etc.)

REQUIRED GEAR

For Day 1 In The Classroom
  • Note Taking Materials (pen, paper, tablet, etc.)
For Day 2 On The Range
  • Duty Weapon with 3 Magazines
  • 50 Rounds of Ammunition
  • Duty Gear (holster or range bag, vest if desired)
  • Eye & Ear Protection
  • Appropriate Range Clothing (close toed shoes, patnts, etc.)

GET STARTED

View the training schedule, and sign up today

Connect with us

2440 W. Medtronic Way Suite A
Tempe, AZ 85281

Guard Card Reminder

Students with an account can sign up for email reminders about their guard card expiration date

Search